Folio Academy

I am knee deep in art, at the point where I have five pictures to finish, and ideas for ten more.  At this stage, I often throw up my hands in despair and go and have a cup of tea and watch Arrested Development.

I have found another great way to get around this – I stop and watch other people painting, and every time I come back with something new.  Youtube is great for this, and a lot of my favourite artists have their own pages.

Seeing as I can’t go back to school, I have found a few places online that offer tutorials and classes and they have been my life-blood for the past few months.  Places like schoolism.com make me dribble – but are a bit out of my reach at present.  However, I have found possibly the most awesome website through the work of Will Terry- one of my idols. He has online videos along with lots of other artists and they are more than affordable.

The website is http://folioacademy.com/ and they have, by far, some of the most accessible vids I have bought.  I was concerned at first that I would end up trying to draw like him, but instead I am taking the principles from the vid and making them my own – and isn’t that what it is all about?

I am off to watch a video about illustrating children’s books – and I might be about to treat myself to a brand new vid.  I will do some drawing today, I promise.

(what I should be working on rather than watching videos…)

 

One thought on “Folio Academy

Leave a Reply

